Why I smiled when our servers melted

Yes, it’s true, I was cheering and dancing when our stress test melted our servers. I would be high-fiving the rest of the QA team if I wasn’t the only one. No, I’m not enjoying that we have to buy another server, nor that you have to spend some time now setting everything up again. I’m celebrating it because, today, I feel useful in the team.

That doesn’t mean that things have to break so I can feel part of the team, but there are some days when my job is under review because “I am not catching enough bugs”. There are some days when I have to spend time explaining why I’m reading the documentation and understanding the knowledge base instead of writing automated test of an unfinished product, occasionally spending way more time explaining myself than working on it. Some days I have to convince developers, one by one, that despite their beliefs I wasn’t hired to write and maintain their functional tests, even tough if I have command on Selenium and I helped them during that tedious week.

But, today, I feel that all the time invested learning how our users call our batch processor, reading how our stack handle and balance the load and how to performance test the application inside AWS so it doesn’t cost us a fortune was worth it. Today I know that we’ve found something that might happen when we go live and no one else was caring about. Today, I can prove how useful I am.

This is not about me enjoying when you feel ashamed, nor about pointing at you while talking with the stakeholders. This is about avoiding that our users break the application this way because we understand how to avoid it.

Today is a nice day.

And, ok, it’s also quite funny to see you al running around and asking me how did I manage to break it, as well as receiving compliments for the effort.

I’ve also ordered a fireproof vest on Amazon, just in case.

May the force be with you,
Gino

Leave a Reply

