Tester’s commitments v 2.0

I’ve already talked about James Bach’s tester’s commitments, but I have problems making that promise to my colleagues, as I don’t share some parts of them so I want to create my own version. I want to include Quality Assistance values, as well as some experiences; and keep them as short, simple and relevant as possible. These are my commitments:

  1. I provide a service. You are an important client of that service. I am not satisfied unless you are satisfied.
  2. I am not the gatekeeper of quality. I don’t “own” quality. Shipping a good product is a goal shared by all of us.
  3. I will assist you in the design of the product to ensure its testability.
  4. I will support you in any task to deliver a better quality product.
  5. I will provide guidance in your testing efforts, sharing my knowledge with you and helping with any tool or technique needed.
  6. I will learn the product quickly, and make use of that knowledge to test more cleverly.
  7. I will help you identifying important things to test first and try to find important problems first.
  8. I will strive to test in the interests of everyone whose opinions matter, including you, so that you can make better decisions about the product.
  9. I will write clear, concise, thoughtful, and respectful problem reports. (I may make suggestions about design, but I will never presume to be the designer.)
  10. I invite your special requests, such as if you need me to spot check something for you, help you document something, or run a special kind of test.
  11. I will not carelessly waste your time. Or if I do, I will learn from that mistake.

I know that the list will evolve with time and experience, but these are the commitments I make today for you.

May the force be with you,

Gino

Leave a Reply

