Why being a tester spoiled my life

I truly believe that a great tester is born, as well as most other professions. Testing requires a strongly critical thinking, as well as perseverance and lateral thinking. There are some technical and products details that undoubtedly help in your daily work, but in my opinion, those skills don’t make a great tester on their own.

I’m not a great tester, and that’s what is driving me to understand, learn and practice how you become one. But I’m a critical thinker. I love breaking down situations too, in the calmest possible way, and identifying what is happening, which are the potential outcomes and how can it go wrong. I’ve been doing it my entire life, and probably that’s why I enjoy being a testing professional. But I can’t stop being a critical thinker in my personal life.

There are times, MANY times believe me, when spoiling yourself thinking what can go wrong will ruin an experience. There are times when understanding why you ended in some situation make it way less enjoyable. And, if you’re sharing it with someone, people will hate you when you try to anticipate the issues and prepare a plan B in advance. Some just want to do things, regardless of the result. A simple example is my peculiar relationship with food.

My mum in endocrinologist, and I grew up learning the calories of the food, which are their main nutrient and what is missing in any meal. And that has spoiled my life. I obviously eat junk food, and I enjoy eating colossal portions, but I can clearly point you how it will affect me, and what I’m doing wrong. So when I see someone eating a really big budget with doughnuts as buns, I just can think “SERIOUSLY??”, instead of enjoying it.

But peeps, if you’re cursed like me, remember that you can use it and become part of the testing community. Your colleagues will praise your ability to anticipate fires, and they’ll learn it after throwing away your recommendations; you’ll help people understanding why things didn’t work and you’ll show people that some details really matter.

This is why I’m still a tester. I spent part of my career pretending to be a developer, dreaming of being a designer and even thinking how would be producing. But I’m cursed, I was born to be a tester, and breaking things is SO funny.

May the force be with you,

Gino

Leave a Reply

